Happy Science Teachings

The Basic Teachings

Here, we will introduce a part of Master Ryuho Okawa’s teachings in detail. From the early days of Happy Science, Master Ryuho Okawa has been teaching us to practice the basic teachings of the “Exploration of the Right Mind” and “the Fourfold Path,” namely: LOVE, WISDOM, SELF-REFLECTION and PROGRESS. “The fourfold path” is also known as “the Principles of Happiness.” It is the fundamental teaching of Happy Science, which all members repeatedly study and practice.

The Fourfold Path

The Fourfold Path, known as “The Principles of Happiness” – is a teaching unique to Happy Science. It is a set of guideposts in exploration of the Right Mind and achieving true happiness – the kind of happiness that extends from this material world to the next one, the Spirit World. The Principles of Happiness are the four methods of freeing ourselves from worldly worries and distress, and at the same time, a modern path to enlightenment that is accessible to each and every person. The Fourfold Path consists of four interrelated principles: the Principle of Love, the Principle of Wisdom, the Principle of Self-Reflection and the Principle of Progress.


The Principle of Love teaches people to love others. While this teaching of love is connected to the Christian idea of “love thy neighbor,” it is also equivalent to the philosophy of compassion that runs through the heart of Buddhism. The Principle of Love states that true love is “love that gives,” and that giving love without any expectations or conditions is the starting point of happiness. It is selfless love, detached from personal desires. Real love is based on the understanding that we all have the same divine nature – we are, in essence, one.


he Principal of Wisdom focuses on the importance of studying the Truth – a teaching that provides us the opportunity to know the mind of God and Buddha, and to grasp the true meaning of life. This principle emphasizes the importance of gaining intellectual knowledge, which (through practice and experience) turns into wisdom. Wisdom helps us to cut through our worries and life’s problems, to know right from wrong, and to guide others onto the right path.


The Principal of Self-Reflection emphasizes the importance of correcting improper thoughts and returning our minds to a clean state – a state in which we can discover our divine nature. Self-reflection taught at Happy Science is the Noble Eightfold Path restructured to suit modern society. Beginners, though, can approach self-reflection as a reflection on their morality. We all make mistakes, and we have been blessed with the freedom to do so. This is allowed because we have the ability to correct these mistakes. We can’t turn back the clocks of time and repair a broken vase, but things that occur within the mind can be undone. If you regret having done something wrong and reflect deeply upon the deed in your mind, then the sin will be wiped from your past. This is the spiritual discipline of removing the stains and tarnishes that obscure the mind, and attuning it to the higher realms of Heaven. By practicing self-reflection, we can increase our awareness, polish our divine nature, and protect ourselves from negative spiritual influences or possessions.


The Principle of Progress focuses on success or happiness through positive action and development. Progress is the attitude needed to develop not only prosperity, but also happiness that spread to others. It means to make continuous efforts, use the given time wisely, and discover something new each day. Ultimately, it means to strive to become a better person and create an utopia – an ideal society – on earth.

[/et_pb_text][/et_pb_column][/et_pb_row][et_pb_row admin_label=”Row”][et_pb_column type=”1_2″][et_pb_text admin_label=”Text” background_layout=”light” text_orientation=”left” text_font_size=”14″ use_border_color=”off” border_color=”#ffffff” border_style=”solid”]

The Exploration of the Right Mind

Practicing “the Four Principles of Happiness” (also known as the modern “Fourfold Path”) is called “The Exploration of the Right Mind.” Begin with any principle that appeals to you or that you think you need to work on the most. From there, you will experience an upward spiral of spiritual growth.

Basic Teachings of Happy Science

Besides the “Exploration of the Right Mind” and “the Fourfold Path,” there are a number of unique teachings imparted by Master Ryuho Okawa, which are indicative of the diversity and the universality of how Happy Science views the world.

Divine Nature – All Human Beings are Children of God and Buddha

It is taught that the light and the nature of God and Buddha – Lord El Cantare – dwell in every human being. No matter what nationality or race, we are all brothers and sisters coming from the one. Each of us is a child of God and Buddha, and so each of us is a precious existence responsible for attaining happiness.

The Spirit of Self-Help – Life is a Workbook of Problems

Master Ryuho Okawa teaches that life is a workbook of problems. If we understand that we reincarnate into this world to train our souls, the spirit of self-help becomes vitally important. As the saying goes, “God helps those who help themselves,” the heavenly world reaches out to those who make the effort.